Stanley Morten

Stanley (Bud)

Board Member

Stanley (Bud) Morten, CFA

Bud Morten is a consultant to the financial services industry and a private investor.

He was born and raised in Chicago; received a BA degree (in economics) with honors from Lake Forest College in 1966 and a MBA degree from Harvard Business School in 1968. He then joined the research department of Wertheim & Co., where he eventually concentrated on some of the great technology and growth stocks of that era (e.g., Xerox, Polaroid, Kodak, Black & Decker) and was recognized on Institutional Investor magazine’s All-America Research Team for ten consecutive years, four of them as the number-one analyst in his sector. He became a Chartered Financial Analyst and Associate Director of Research in 1977, Director of Research in 1981, a General Partner of the firm in 1982, and a member of the Executive Committee in 1988. In 1989, he joined the Corporate Finance Department, and also assumed responsibility for oversight of the firm’s Asset Management operations, and for the development of a strategic long-term plan for the firm. In 1991, he became the head of the Equity Services Division, with overall responsibility for Investment Research, Institutional Sales, Listed Trading, OTC Trading, Options, Private Investors, Syndicate and International. He left the firm after its acquisition by Schroders at the end of 1994. For 4-1/2 years to mid-2000, he was then Chief Operating Officer of Punk, Ziegel & Knoell, a New York-based specialty investment bank providing a full range of research, institutional sales, equity market making, corporate finance, retail brokerage and asset management services. The firm focused on the healthcare and technology industries and was eventually acquired by Ladenburg Thalmann. In 2003, he was appointed by the Securities and Exchange Commission to serve as the Independent Consultant to Citigroup with responsibility for its independent research requirements under the Global Research Analyst Settlement, which ended in 2009.

Board of Directors